Sunday, 29 July 2007

Alone in Silithus

Mabel's halfway between 61 and 62 now, and she's finally moved to Outland. Yes, yes, I know she could have gone at 58, but anyone who knows me will understand why she didn't - she hadn't finished Azeroth! I realise I'm in a tiny minority who plays like this, but it makes perfect sense to me. I don't play for gear or loot or gold - I play for the experience of playing. I love questing, and I particularly like visiting areas that I've either never been, or not been for ages. This is quite apart from the fact that I don't like to leave zones with quests undone or unfinished. (I'm OK about missing out whole zones, though - at least the early ones. For example, Gianetta has just finished the Bloodmyst quests, and she's moved straight to Duskwood, omitting places like Darkshore, Ashenvale, Westfall and Redridge. But she'll do all the zones from Duskwood onwards.)

All of the above should help to explain why I spent the whole of last night alone in Silithus, the last of the Azeroth zones (yes, I do have a specific order I have to do them in!) And I do mean "alone" - I kept doing a "/who" to see if anyone else had joined me, and they hadn't. A Horde guy did turn up just as I was about to leave, but that was the first player I'd seen in 12 hours. I felt kind of sad for the mobs, actually! I saw Setis - a rare elite that I've never seen before - and he was just wandering around aimlessly. I suppose you could argue that he (and other mobs) might prefer NOT to be killed, but it seemed so sad that they were just being totally ignored!

I did all the stuff I could do solo. I'm realistic enough to know that the chance of getting even a friend to help me do the other stuff is slim to zero - I can't even persuade any of them to do Plaguelands stuff, let alone Silithus! So I abandoned stuff like Glyph Chasing and Into the Maw of Madness... but I made a note, as I always do, of which quests I haven't done, so that I can go back later when I can solo them. (Iolanthe recently went back at L70 to do Into the Maw of Madness - not easy even then! But although she did die a couple of times, she finished it. Very satisfying!)

Mabel also spent quite a few hours (and gold) doing the Tier 0.5 armour chain. I doubt that many people have done that since the expansion came out, because (as everyone knows) you can get better gear from an hour or two killing trash in Outland. But as I said earlier, I don't play for gear, and that chain is not only great fun, it also has loads of XP! Mabel and Iolanthe are now both stuck on the 45-minute Baron step of it, but I hold out hope that someone else in the guild will want to try that sometime - although, knowing my luck, they'll do it on the spur of the moment on a day when I'm not online!

No comments: